Leader of the Pack


Congratulations to the 2014 Leader of the Pack - Ashley Eli

The Leader of the Pack Program recognizes students who make outstanding contributions to NC State in the areas of leadership, scholarship and community service. Finalists for the honor are selected based on grade-point average, a personal interview, extracurricular activities, written essays on their leadership and service experience and student-body vote. The Leader of the Pack will be determined by the cumulative score from all phases of the process. The Leader of the Pack award is recognized at the Homecoming Football game.


The following criteria must be met to be eligible for the Leader of the Pack scholarship:

• Completed two semesters at NC State at the time of application
• Enrolled as an undergraduate student at NC State
• Cumulative GPA of 3.25 or higher
• Free from academic integrity probation and any previous or current disciplinary probation


Six finalists will:

• Participate in the Homecoming Parade scheduled for Friday afternoon, October 30, 2015
• Receive three tickets to the NC State vs. Clemson football game on October 31, 2015
• Be recognized at half-time during the Homecoming Football Game on October 31, 2015

The top student designated as ‘The Leader of the Pack’ will also receive a $2,000 university scholarship (to be applied during the Fall 2016 semester).

The student finalist with the highest GPA will receive a $250 gift certificate from the NC State Bookstores.

Starting in 2012, the Leader of the Pack scholarship was awarded to one student.  The same number of finalists will be recognized as in the past, but only one will receive the scholarship.

APPLICATIONThis link will open in a new window 

Deadline to apply is September 14, 2015 - 5:00pm
(Late applications will not be accepted)

Past Recipients:

Fall 2014 - Ashley Eli (pictured above)
Fall 2013 - Austin Bath 
Fall 2012 - Rusty Mau
Fall 2011 - Alan Sheridan & Michelle Philllips
Fall 2010 - Sam Dennis & Chandler Thompson
Fall 2009 - Taylor Massey & Nicole Machado-Alvarez
Fall 2008 - Elise Bullard & Matthew Avery
Fall 2007 - Anna Patton & Nicholas Schultz
Fall 2006 - Paul Carruth & Casey Coats
Fall 2005 - Nancy Zagbayou & Mark A. Clapp
Fall 2004 - Erin Welch & Robby Moorefield
Fall 2003 - Sarah King & Mital Patel
Fall 2002 - Andrea Hernandez & Tony Caravano