Role Model Leader Award

Each year, NC State honors an outstanding regional, national or international leader who has demonstrated leadership, the highest commitment to leading with integrity, a commitment to service as a role model for others, and the ability to deliver an engaging and thought-provoking presentation to the campus and greater community.

Campus offices and organizations having invited speakers to campus during each academic year who embodies these criteria, are encouraged to nominate them for the honor. Nominations are accepted on a rolling basis; however, priority is given to nominations submitted by October 26.

Is your organization or department bringing a speaker to campus this year who embodies the qualities of a Role Model Leader? If so, we encourage you to consider nominating them. For more information about the nomination process and the roles of the nominating individual(s)/department(s), please contact Dawn Morgan.

Nomination Form: If your organization is interested in submitting a Role Model Leader Award nomination, please click here to access the nomination form.


Read about our past honorees – Click Here:

Nikki Giovanni Recognized as 2015 Role Model Leader

Renowned poet and social activist Nikki Giovanni spoke in the Talley Student Union Wednesday night, touching on race relations and racial progress in the United States. In addition to reading her poems and providing social commentary on a variety of topics with pertinence to black Americans, Giovanni also mixed in her sense of humor.

“When people tell me that Rosa [Parks] only decided to stay sitting because she was tired, I say that is crap,” Giovanni said. “The bus where Rosa Parks stood is sacred ground, not unlike the area in Greensboro where those four young men took a stand.”


  • Derreck Kayongo, 2015-16
  • Nikki Giovanni, 2014-2015
  • Bishop Gene Robinson, 2013-2014
  • Jessica Ekstrom, 2012-2013
  • Doc Hendley, 2011-2012
  • Sauls Flores, 2010-2011
  • Jackson Katz, 2009-2010
  • Morris Dees, 2008-2009
  • Jo Luck, 2007-2008
  • Millard and Linda Fuller, 2006-2007
  • Rev. Dale Johnson, 2005-2006
  • Greg Smith, 2004-2005
  • Judy Shepard, 2003-2004
  • Samuel Tso, 2002-2003
  • Coach Doug Blevins, 2001-2002
  • Maya Angelou, 2000-2001
  • General Henry H. Shelton, 1999-2000
  • Sgt. Dana Bowman, 1997-1998
  • James Graham, 1996-1997
  • Mr. Li Lu, 1995-1996
  • Dr. Madeline Cartwright, 1994-1995
  • Chief Wilma Mankiller, 1993-1994
  • Reef Ivey, II, 1992-1993
  • Ms. Kay Yow, 1991-1992
  • Dr. Isabella Cannon, 1990-1991
  • Dr. Leroy Walker, 1989-1990
  • Dr. Elisabeth Zinser, 1988-1989
  • Governor James B. Hunt, 1987-1988
  • Dr. William Friday, 1987-1988